Shape the future of platial research

We are seeking high-quality contributions on the topics proposed. Therefore, we want your work to be visible and sustainably citable long-term after the symposium. All short paper contributions will be published online with individual DOIs as ZENODO Symposium Proceedings, an outlet funded by the European Commission to support publication of high-quality proceedings. You may want to have a look at last year’s proceedings to get an impression.

Please use our Overleaf LaTeX template for preparing your contributions. Your papers should be prepared in adherence to the guidelines found in the Overleaf template. The anticipated length of the paper is 7–9 pages maximum length, including abstract, figures, and references. Submission of your paper (i.e. the PDF) should be done via EasyChair: We will only approach you upon paper acceptance to ask for submission of all finalized files (including the compiled PDF, LaTeX source files, figures). All submissions will be reviewed double-blind by at least two members of the programme committee (see below). Therefore, please prepare your documents in anonymized form (see instructions given in the template).


3 May 2019 Call for short papers opens
19 July 2019
29 July 2019
Submission deadline for short papers
5–6 September 2019PLATIAL’19 Symposium

Programme Committee

Thomas Blaschke (University of Salzburg, Austria)
Dirk Burghardt (Technical University of Dresden, Germany)
Alexis Comber (University of Leeds, UK)
Clare Davies (University of Winchester, UK)
Ekaterina Egorova (Massey University, New Zealand)
Sara Irina Fabrikant (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
Michael F. Goodchild (University of California Santa Barbara, US)
Krzysztof Janowicz (University of California Santa Barbara, US)
Karen Kemp (University of Southern California Dornsife, US)
Grant McKenzie (McGill University, Canada)
Franz-Benjamin Mocnik (University of Twente, the Netherlands)
Alenka Poplin (Iowa State University, US)
Simon Scheider (Utrecht University, the Netherlands)
Kathleen Stewart (University of Maryland, US)
Thora Tenbrink (Bangor University, UK)
Nigel Thrift (University of Oxford, UK)
Maria Vasardani (RMIT University, Australia)
René Westerholt (University of Warwick, UK)
Stephan Winter (University of Melbourne, Australia)